Thursday, 4 September 2008

BlackMatch Win Group B and go through to Quaterfinals in St Moritz

by SailRaceWin

Thursday morning in St Moritz saw the Kiwi BlackMatch Racing team initially lose to World Tour Leader Ian Williams and his Team Pindar, but then beat Aussie Torvar Mirsky to win Round Robin Group B.

Adam Minoprio and the boys qualified for the quarterfinals at the 2008 St Moritz Match Race, with a 4-1 win-loss scorecard. Others qualifying from Group B were Ian Williams and Jes Gram Hansen, each with a 3-2 score.

In Group A yesterday, Sebastien Col, Eric Monnin and Mathieu Richard qualified for the quarterfinals.

The last two places in the quaterfinals are decided by a repechage round robin, in which Bjorn Hansen, Paolo Cian, Peter Wibroe, Torvar Mirsky, Philippe Presti and Michael Hestbaek will compete.

The Group B fleet race with morning (which would have been used to determine qualifiers for the quarterfinals had a count-back been needed) was won by Paolo Cian, with Jes Gram Hansen second, and Ian Williams third. Adam Minoprio finished fourth in the fleet race.

Round Robin B Fleet Race Results

1st Paolo Cian
2nd Jes Gram Hansen
3rd Ian Williams
4th Adam Minoprio
5th Torvar Mirsky
6th Peter Wibroe

Round Robin Group B Results

1st Adam Minoprio (NZL) 4-1
2nd Jes Gram Hansen (DEN) 3-2
3rd Ian Williams (GBR) 3-2
4th Paolo Cian (ITA) 2-3
5th Peter Wibroe (DEN) 2-3
6th Torvar Mirsky (AUS) 1-4

(Winners in Bold)

M1 Peter Wibroe v Adam Minoprio
M2 Torvar Mirsky v Ian Williams
M3 Paolo Cian v Jes Gram Hansen

M1 Peter Wibroe v Torvar Mirsky
M2 Adam Minoprio v Paolo Cian
M3 Ian Williams v Jes Gram Hansen

M1 Torvar Mirsky v Paolo Cian
M2 Jes Gram Hansen v Adam Minoprio
M3 Ian Williams v Peter Wibroe

M1 Jes Gram Hansen v Torvar Mirsky
M2 Peter Wibroe v Paolo Cian
M3 Adam Minoprio v Ian Williams

M1 Jes Gram Hansen v Peter Wibroe
M2 Adam Minoprio v Torvar Mirsky
M3 Paolo Cian v Ian Williams

World Match Racing Tour

No comments: