Tuesday, 30 December 2008

Rolex Sydney Hobart 2008: Quest is Overall Winner

Robert Steel's Quest: overall winner of the 2008 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race. Image copyright Rolex/Carlo Borlenghi.

by Giles Pearman

Bob Steel's Quest (AUS/NSW) has been confirmed as the overall handicap winner of the 64th Rolex Sydney Hobart 2008.

Steel's crew were ninth across the line, finishing at 14.00.37 AEDT on Sunday, 28 December, less than five hours after Line Honours winner Wild Oats XI.

None of the competitors to have finished since Quest have been able to knock her off pole position but, with so many of the fleet still at sea, the CYCA waited until this morning to be certain of the result. The delighted owner and crew were awarded the Tattersalls Trophy and a Rolex Chronometer at a presentation onboard Quest, in Constitution Dock.

Bob Oatley's Wild Oats XI (AUS/NSW) secured Line Honours finishing at 09.34.14 AEDT on Sunday, 28 December.

The Rolex Sydney Hobart final prize giving ceremony will be held at the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania on Thursday, 1 January.

The 100-boat fleet that started the 64th Rolex Sydney Hobart has crews representing the USA, UK, New Zealand, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Russia and New Caledonia as well as every Australian state.

As at 1000 AEDT, 25 yachts have finished and 5 have retired leaving 70 still racing. The first international entry home was Ragtime (USA). Lady Courrier (FRA) and Jus' Do It (GBR) are expected this evening. Walross IV (GER), Winsome (NED) and Pinta-M (NED) should arrive in the early hours of tomorrow morning.

Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2008

No comments: