Sunday, 5 June 2011

Audi Winter Series : Tactics the Key to Winning

Kelly2N is the current Division F Pointscore leader. Image copyright

by Jennifer Crooks

Another warm and beautiful sun drenched winter’s day greeted the 144 competitors in race five of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s Audi Winter Series, with crew preparation and tactical decisions the difference between winning and losing.

The largest fleet of the series thus far started off Point Piper as per their handicap start time shortly after 11:25hrs, in a light 5-10 knot westerly breeze on Course A. PRO Denis Thompson described today’s conditions as “another lovely day to be sailing on Sydney Harbour with light westerlies staying in for most of the afternoon and just fading at the end of the day. These were good sailing conditions on flat water, with many crews having fun!”

Papillon's asymmetrical kite paid dividends today. Image copyright

For Phil Molony and the crew onboard Papillon, preparation, a great start and their asymmetric kite made all the difference to winning Division B. “We nailed the start – we hit the line flat out about one second after our allotted time. We had prepared our tactics in advance and it really paid dividends.”

“We set our asymmetric kite on our way up to the Cannae Point mark and we were beating boats bigger than us. This gave us the advantage over others in our division and we were able to hold our position throughout the rest of the race.”

“Our crew work was excellent and we really enjoyed coming away with the win,” Molony added. Papillon also leads the Division B series pointscore.

“A strategic piece of genius by our driver Tim Garner” made all difference for Jason Klaas’ Beneteau 27.7 The Holy Gale, today’s Division H winner and current divisional pointscore leader.

“We were nowhere on the first lap; we got caught in the tide whilst Broulee managed to keep out of it. On the second lap, there was a bit of a melee at the Sow & Pigs mark, which we could see unfolding before our eyes. We were able to sneak around this and cruise home,” Klaas added.

One strategic piece of genius helped The Holy Gale to a divisional win. Image copyright

Michael Ewings had left control of his Pacific 36 Kelly2N to Chantel Hodgson and Chris Durman, whilst he was away in Malaysia. They secured him a second consecutive divisional F win, gaining a one point lead in their divisional series pointscore and walking away with the keys to an Audi A5 Sportback 2.0T multitronic to drive for the week.

For Brian Carrick, the opportunity to drive an Audi for the week was something to write home about. “I brought the A5 Sportback home from the CYCA on Sunday evening and on Monday morning decided to take my wife out for a coffee…up to Terrigal.”

“What a fantastic car! I absolutely loved driving it and now I realise the truth behind the statement: ‘The Audi is a driver’s car’. The comfort, the acceleration, the road-holding, the braking – all are so impressive. And then there are the toys: the best GPS navigation system and cruise control I have ever used. This is the car I would buy - thank you Audi for this much appreciated opportunity to drive such a fabulous car,” Carrick added.

Other winners today were Vanguard (Richard Cawse) taking Division A1; Ichi Ban (Walter Lewin and Matt Allen) Division A2; Solahart Rum Jungle (Scott Russell) Division C; Scarlett O’Hara (Robert Skol) Division D; Zippier (Andrew Waugh) Division E; New Territories (James Francis) Division G; Sailors with Disabilities (David Pescud) Division J; Magic (Chris Manion) Division K and Outlaw (Alan and Tom Quick) won the Sydney 38 Division.

With five races now complete, the current Audi Winter Series divisional pointscore leaders are: You’re Hired (Geoff Morgan) leads Division A1; Wasabi (Bruce McKay) Division A2; Papillon (Phil Molony) Division B; Cyrene 3 (Michael Selby) Division C; The Philosophers Club (Peter Sorenson) Division D; Zippier (Andrew Waugh) Division E; Kelly2N (Michael Ewings) Division F; New Territories (James Francis) Division G; The Holy Gale (Jason Klaas) Division H; Sextant (D Doyle and L Smith) Division J; MRX (J Short and M Bastick) Division K; and Wild One (Larki Missiris) Sydney 38 Division .

Full results may be found here, and Sydney 38 results here

Audi Winter Series