Wednesday, 27 August 2008

BlackMatch to Compete in the Danish Open, World Match Racing Tour

Peter Wibroe, who has had close matches with the Kiwis in BlackMatch Racing this year, was runner-up to Jesper Radich in the Danish Open 2007 and competes in the event again this week. Seven nationalities are represented in the 2008 entry list, including Adam Minoprio and BlackMatch Racing. Image copyright Per Heegaard.

by World Match Racing Tour and SailRaceWin

The top sailors of the world will be making their way to Frederikshavn, at the northern end of the Jutland peninsula, for the 5th event on the World Match Racing Tour 2008 - the Danish Open.

The Danish Open runs 27 - 31 August and is organised by the Royal Danish Yacht Club, in conjunction with the Match Race Centre and Frederikshavn Sejlklub, and is sailed in the DS37 Match Racers.

There is a very strong entry line-up with more than 50% of skippers in the top 10 of ISAF World Rankings and all in contention for the Match Racing World Championship - it’s going to be a really tough event to win.

The racing waters for the 2008 Danish Open, off Frederikshavn, Denmark. Image copyright World Match Racing Tour.

The Royal Danish Yacht Club will be show-casing the City of Frederikshavn as its new event venue. The City of Frederikshavn is known for its expansive open spaces and pedestrian streets with beautiful old buildings and exciting architecture, as well as good sailing conditions.

Who’s Entered?– 12 teams including 6 of the top 8 from the current Tour leader board, the current World Tour leader, the current ISAF No 1 ranked skipper and four teams representing America’s Cup syndicates.

Entry List
Seb Col (FRA) French Match Racing Team/K Challenge
Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team/Team French Spirit
Magnus Holmberg (SWE) Victory Challenge
Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Alandia Sailing Team
Peter Wibroe (DEN) Team Wibroe
Ian Williams (GBR) Team Pindar
Johnie Berntsson (SWE)
Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team
Jesper Radich (DEN) Radich Racing Team
Adam Minoprio (NZL) Emirates Team New Zealand/BlackMatch Racing
Andrew Arbuzov (RUS)
Mads Ebler (DEN) Team AWL Grip

World Match Racing Tour

No comments: