Friday, 18 April 2014

Hyeres Sailing World Cup : New Zealand Sailing Team Prepare

Pete Burling and Blair Tuke in action at the Princess Sofia Trophy, Palma. Image copyright Jesus Renedo/Sofia Mapfre

by Jodie Bakewell-White

Following the recent double gold medal success at ISAF Sailing World Cup Palma the NZL SailingTeam are now less than a week away from the start of racing at the next ISAF World Cup Regatta in Hyeres, France.

ISAF Sailing World Cup Hyeres, on the French Riviera, is the final event in 2013-2014 series which has included regattas in China, Australia, USA and Spain, and will conclude in France next week.

A full contingent of the NZL Sailing Team are entered and will again come up against large, full strength fleets featuring their rivals in Olympic class sailing from around the globe. Organisers are expecting over 1000 sailors from 60 nations to compete, and the regatta provides another chance for the kiwiteam to see how they stack up after the New Zealand domestic season.

The schedule: ISAF Sailing World Cup – Hyères from 19 to 26 April 2014

19 - 20 April: Entries - verification of the boats
20 April: Compulsory training session and Opening Ceremony at 5 pm
21 - 22 April: Qualifying Rounds
23 - 25 April: Finals
26 April: Medal Race and Award Ceremony at 5 pm

Here is the full list of New Zealand sailors entered in the upcoming ISAF Sailing World Cup Hyeres;

Women’s 470
Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie - NZL Sailing Team

Men’s 470
Paul Snow-Hansen and Daniel Willcox – NZL Sailing Team

Peter Burling and Blair Tuke – NZL Sailing Team
Marcus Hansen and Josh Porebski – NZL Sailing Team
Ben Goodwin and Sam Bullock

Alexandra Maloney and Molly Meech – NZL Sailing Team

Josh Junior – NZL Sailing Team
Andrew Murdoch – NZL Sailing Team

Andy Maloney – NZL Sailing Team
Sam Meech – NZL Sailing Team
Thomas Saunders – NZL Sailing Team
Andrew McKenzie

Women’s RS:X
Natalia Kosinska – NZL Sailing Team

Men’s RS:X
Jon-Paul Tobin

Nacra 17
Gemma Jones and Jason Saunders – NZL Sailing Team
Rachel Basevi and Tomer Simhony
Vicky Francis and Geoff Woolley

Laser Radial
Ali Nightingale – NZL Yachting Trust Youth 
Sara Winther

Coaches and support: Nathan Handley, Mark Howard, Ian Neely, Dave Robertson, John Cutler, Hamish Willcox, Steve Erickson, Peter Evans and Will Howden