Tuesday, 24 March 2009

WMRT: Brits on Tour

TEAMORIGIN, with Ben Ainslie helming and Iain Percy on tactics, at the 2008 Bermuda Gold Cup. Image copyright Charles Anderson/World Match Racing Tour.

by Yvonne Reid

TEAMORIGIN the British challenger for the 33rd America’s Cup skippered by triple Olympic Gold medallist Ben Ainslie will compete on the 2009 World Match Racing Tour having secured the final Tour Card.

Ben Ainslie (UK), helmsman, will lead a TEAMORIGIN crew, that also includes double Olympic Gold medallist, Iain Percy (UK), Matt Cornwell (UK) and Christian Kamp (DEN), at up to 9 match racing events around the world, starting with Match Race Germany on 27 May and culminating with the Monsoon Cup in Malaysia in December. “Since TEAMORIGIN was formed there has been limited opportunity for us to sail as a team. The Tour will allow us to compete at a high level of match racing competition whilst we develop our core sailing team. We look forward to competing on the Tour this year and having a shot at the World Championship. The Tour will aid in our preparations for the next Cup as and when it happens” said Ainslie.

For Ben and Iain, better known for their phenomenal Olympic success, the World Match Racing Tour, as well as a natural stepping stone on their path to the Americas Cup, presents a new challenge for the pair and the chance to follow the progress of these talented sailors throughout the 2009 Tour is a very exciting prospect.

“With the addition of TEAMORIGIN to the teams competing on the Tour this year we are shaping up for a highly competitive season. The WMRT’s commercial platform and television coverage will enable the team to continue racing and continue to build the team profile, as well as contributing towards the solid base they need to build a winning Americas Cup team.” said Tour Director Craig Mitchell.

Current World Match Racing Tour Leaderboard (top eight teams after stage one of ten):
1. Adam Minoprio (NZL) Emirates Team New Zealand/Black Match Racing, 25
2. Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team/ French Team Spirit, 20
3. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team, 15
4. Damien Iehl (FRA) French Match Racing Team, 12
5. Ed Baird (USA) Alinghi, 10
6. Sebastien Col (FRA) French Match Racing Team/K-Challenge, 8
7. Paolo Cian (ITA) Team Shosholoza, 6
8. Ian Williams (GBR) Bahrain Team Pindar, 4 points

World Match Racing Tour

No comments: