Thursday, 24 June 2010

Newport-Bermuda Race: Who Won?

Crew of Carina, winner of the St. David's Lighthouse Trophy. Image copyright PPL photo agency.

by Talbot Wilson

No single boat ‘wins’ the Newport Bermuda Race.The classic ocean race has 5 divisions and 16 classes. The 183 boats entered in 2010 raced for over 90 trophies including for 5 major division trophies under the Offshore Racing Rule (ORR) system and a one major prize for IRC that combines most boats in two divisions that choose to be dual scored. Winners in the 16 classes win perpetual trophies and up to 4-deep keepers.

The St. David’s Lighthouse is often regarded as the main trophy because that division is the largest with 100-plus boats and because it carries on the founder's aim to get amateurs sailing offshore in cruising-racing boats. Winning any division however has its bragging rights.

St. David's Lighthouse Divsion for the St. David's Lighthouse Trophy

Carina, the McCurdy & Rhodes 48, sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook CT) finished at 6:55:06 ADT. Her corrected time was 55:28:27. This division is for yachts with predominantly amateur crew.

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division for the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse trophy

Sir Geoffrey Mulcahy’s Swan 56 Noonmark VI (London, UK) crossed the line at 2:40:18 on Tuesday morning. This Frers designed Swan 56 sailed under the English flag. She had a corrected time of 52:48:32. This division allows full professional crews.

Cruiser Division for the Carleton Mitchell Finesterre Trophy

Neal Finnegan’s Swan 56 Clover III (Dedham, MA) crossed the line at 2:17:11 on Tuesday. One of two Swan 56 to take top prizes, her corrected time was 72:04:49. This division is for mostly amateur crews sailing cruising style boats

Double Handed Division for The Moxie Prize

Jason A. Richter’s J-35 Paladin (Mt. Sinai, NY) co skippered by Robert Fischer (Patchogue, NY). Paladin’s corrected time was 73:30:36. One professional is allowed, if that person is the owner.

Open Division for the Royal Mail Trophy

Mark Watson (Hamilton. Bermuda) skipper of the US Merchant Marine’s Dubois 90 Genuine Risk finished on Monday at 7:48:45. The corrected time was 53:43:32. This division is for cant-keel boats with full professional crews allowed.

Combined Gibbs Hill and St. David’s Lighthouse Divisions for the IRC North Rock Beacon Trophy

Carina, the McCurdy& Rhodes 48,sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook, CT), finished at 6:55:06 Tuesday morning. Her IRC corrected time was 91:57:51.

Newport-Bermuda Race