Thursday, 18 February 2010

The National Bank International Youth Match Racing Championships - Day One

Last year’s winner Josh Junior is back and on top of the Leader Board

by Barry Davies

Josh Junior and his team from the Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club in Wellington are back to defend their 2009 title and they have certainly started the right way!

Winning all seven of their races today they are on top of the leader board after day one.

Junior commented at last night's Opening Ceremony that he was “very lucky to have the same team sailing with him this year”, which certainly paid off today as his team didn’t make any mistakes and won all their matches by large margins.

Second overall on six wins and one loss each are Jordan Reece representing the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron and William Tiller representing the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron. Reece’s only loss of the day was in flight two to Stephanie Hazard and Tiller’s only loss was to Reece Tailby.

Stephanie Hazard is next in fourth place overall with five wins and two losses. She started the day off in style winning all five of her races and was sitting on equal wins with Josh Junior. However in Flight Six she lost to Junior by 57 seconds and then lost to Tiller by 50 seconds.

The next three teams are grouped together on four wins, Josh Porebski representing the Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club, Will Mackenzie representing the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and Reece Tailby representing the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club.

The Race Committee had a great start to the day getting five flights in quickly, but then a 90 degree wind shift slowed the racing down as the course and committee boat had to be moved.

The breeze was a constant 6 – 10 knots during the day and racing was very close!

Racing begins at 10am Friday morning, with Flight Nine of Round Robin One.

Thursday’s Results
Round Robin One

Flight One
Hazard beat Mackenzie by 16s
Lancaster beat Austin by 1m02s
Banks beat Tailby by 1m07s
Junior beat Morvan by 44s
Reece beat Porebski by 31s
Bye Tiller

Flight Two
Banks beat Lancaster by 25s
Porebski beat Mackenzie by 31s
Hazard beat Reece by 22s
Tiller beat Morvan by 35s
Tailby beat Austin by 22s
Bye Junior

Flight Three
Porebski beat Morvan by 47s
Reece beat Tailby by 47s
Junior beat Austin by 2m15s
Tiller beat Banks by 1m55s
Mackenzie beat Lancaster by 26s
Bye Hazard

Flight Four
Tiller beat Austin DSQ
Tailby beat Mackenzie by 1m33s
Reece beat Lancaster by 38s
Junior beat Banks by 15s
Hazard beat Morvan by 25s
Bye Porebski

Flight Five
Porebski beat Banks by 17s
Junior beat Lancaster by 1m06s
Mackenzie beat Morvan by 1m58s
Hazard beat Austin DSQ
Tailby beat Tiller by 7s
Bye Reece

Flight Six
Reece beat Morvan by 19s
Tiller beat Lancaster by 18s
Porebski beat Austin by 1m26s
Hazard beat Banks by 19s
Junior beat Tailby by 1m01s
Bye Mackenzie

Flight Seven
Tiller beat Porebski by 11s
Junior beat Hazard by 57s
Lancaster beat Morvan by 2s
Mackenzie beat Austin by 13s
Reece beat Banks by 6s

Flight Eight
Tailby beat Morvan by 17s
Junior beat Porebski by 45s
Tiller beat Hazard by 50s
Reece beat Austin by 1m02s
Mackenzie beat Banks by 30s
Bye Lancaster

Points Table
Josh Junior RPNYC - 7 wins / 0 losses / 7 points
William Tiller RNZYS - 6 / 1 / 6
Jordan Reece RSYS - 6 / 1 / 6
Stephanie Hazard RNZYS - 5 / 2 / 5
Will Mackenzie CYCA - 4 / 3 / 4
Josh Porebski RPNYC - 4 / 3 / 4
Reece Tailby RPAYC - 4 / 3 / 4
Codie Banks RNZYS - 2 / 6 / 2
Dillon Lancaster KHYC - 2 / 6 / 2
Peter Austin RHKYC - 0 / 8 / 0
Guenael Morvan CNC - 0 / 8 / 0

Event Schedule
Friday 19
0830 Daily Briefing
1000 Racing begins
Saturday 20
0830 Daily Briefing
1000 Racing begins
Sunday 21
0830 Daily Briefing
1000 Racing begins
1600 approx Prizegiving RNZYS Dinghy Locker Bar

Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron

No comments: