Saturday, 29 May 2010

Delta Lloyd Regatta: Light wind delays second racing day Delta Lloyd Regatta 2010

Eivin Melleby and Petter Morland Pedersen (NOR) lead the Star fleet. Image copyright Thom Touw.

by Corinne McKenzie

It was a very long day in Medemblik, during the second day of the Delta Lloyd Regatta 2010. As expected the wind remained light during the morning before dying totally. While the Star class was the only one to finish the two programmed races, the Laser radial and the 470 men could only complete two races. The other fleets waited on the water attempting to start before being sent back to shore.

The faith and patience of the racing committee paid its dividend, the wind finally reappeared from the North West allowing for racing to resume for the other classes expect for the 2.4.

The different conditions saw a change of leader in half of the classes, while the others have increased their lead.


Eivin Melleby and Petter Morland Pedersen have increased their lead on the Star fleet after winning a race and placing second. Mateusz Kusznierewicz and Dominik Zycki (POL) are now on equal points with last race winner Mate Arapov and Ante Sitic from Croatia.


Only one race was sailed in the Laser who will continue their qualifications round tomorrow. Mattias del Solar (CHI) takes the lead after placing third. Javier Hernandez takes second overall after adding 20 points to his score. Tom Slingsby loses a place to third.

The day's only race goes to Roelof Bouwmeester (Marit's brother) who climbs to 6th overall.

Laser Radial

Marit Bouwmeester added a third victory to her score in the day's first race increasing her overall lead over Veronika Fenclova (CZE) and last race winner, Evi van Acker (BEL). Tina Mihelic (CRO), discards her earlier disqualification at the start and climb to fourth overall. 'I have had problems with my starts. I broke the start twice in Hyčres and once again yesterday! But today I was careful and it went well." With top 4 results, the young Croat is in good form and could soon challenge the top three. 'I am fast downwind, I always pass a few boats." When asked about her objectives on this regatta, the Trofeo Sofia Mapfre winner explains: 'I am testing new equipment and my speed before the European championship."

470 Men

The dying wind created many upset among the 470's Blue group; only 12 boats could finish the fifth race within the time limit, leaving 29 teams with a DNF. With the regrouping tonight into Gold and Silver finals, this last race will have a strong impact on the regatta.

Nic Asher and Elliott Willis (GBR) are keeping the lead over Gideon Kliger and Eran Sela (ISR) and French Pierre Leboucher / Vincent Garos.

470 Women

Hannah Mills and Claire Cumming are the new leader of the 470 women fleet. 'I think it was a day to be punchy at the corners rather than conservative in the middle as the wind seemed to fill back in towards the edges of the course - and also, when you had a lane and saw pressure ahead just to stick with it. I think that's what worked well for us today." explained Mills. The best results today go to Danish duo of Henriette Koch and Lene Sommer who take second overall after a 4th and a first.


One race was raced in the Finn in light and shifty wind. European Champion Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic (CRO) won the race and takes the lead from Rafael Trujillo who finished in 20th place and drops to fourth. Second place overall is Miami OCR and Trofeo Sofia Mapfre winner, Ed Wright (ESP). 'The wind had gone right before the start" explains Gaspic. 'For me it was obvious it had to go back to the left so I took this option. I took the shift had got to the top mark in first. The wind kept turning and we had to beat to the second mark." It was a hard race because we had to play the shifts and the puffs but it was great fun!"


Nico Delle-Karth and Nikolaus Resch take the lead in the 49ers with a safety 11 points margin over Dylan Fletcher and Alan Sign (GBR) on equal points with Manu Dyen/Stéphane Christidis (FRA) and the Riegel brothers from Germany. The 49ers will start to race in Gold and Silver fleets on Friday.


Blanca Manchon is keeping the lead in the strong RS:X women fleet. Australian Jessica Crisp is winning the day's race. Piotr Myszka (POL) and Maksym Oberemko (UKR) won the Men's races. Nimrod Mashiah keeps a narrow lead over Alexandre Guyader and Nick Dempsey.

Women Match racing

It took all day to conclude the Match racing Opening series. Ekaterina Skudina and her team have been steadily improving since the start of the year. They have won all their matches in the Delta Lloyd regatta opening series and qualify into the Gold Round robin with Sofia Bekatorou from Greece with in the other groups, Anna Kjellberg (SWE), Lucy MacGregor (GBR), Anne-Claire Leberre (FRA) and Renee Goeneveld (NED). The teams qualified for the Repechage are: Ru Wang from China, Julie Bossard (FRA), Katie Spithill (AUS), Nicky Souter (AUS), Mary Rook (GBR) and Tamara Echegoyen (ESP).

The Match racing has started on Friday morning at 9:30 am.

The wind is about 7 knots in the morning and is expected to increase up to 17 knots in the afternoon.

Delta Lloyd Regatta