Friday, 28 May 2010

Finn Focus at the Delta Lloyd Regatta day one: 26 May

Rafa Trujillo takes early lead at Delta Lloyd Regatta

Ed Wright (GBR), © Sander van der Borch.

by Robert Deaves

Following his disappointment at the Europeans in Split just over a week ago, Rafa Trujillo (ESP) has bounced back to take the early lead in the Finn fleet at the 2010 Delta Lloyd regatta in Medemblik, Netherlands, the fifth leg of the ISAF Sailing World Cup.

Though lighter winds were forecast, the fleet enjoyed two physically testing races in perfect conditions, rising to 12-14 knots for the second race of the day with a typical Medemblik chop running.

Zach Railey (USA) at the Delta Lloyd Regatta,

Race one went to Trujillo from Gasper Vincec (SLO) and the recently crowned European Champion Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic (CRO). Zach Railey (USA) who skipped the Europeans because of other commitments then went on to win the windier race two with Trujillo close behind and Ed Wright (GBR), the current leader of the ISAF Sailing World Cup for Finns, in third.

Trujillo said, "I had a great day with a first and a second, but more importantly I enjoyed the time at sea and I returned to shore with aching muscles for the effort but with a smile that all the time in the gym has paid off. Tomorrow we have little wind again and we must continue fighting. "

Medemblik has finally broken the curse of losing opening days at major regattas. This is the first major regatta this year that the fleet has managed to get racing in on day one, and also perhaps the windiest racing day of the year so far. But it doesn't look like the sailors good fortune will continue. The forecast for Thursday is for very light winds again with risk of showers.

Pieter-Jan Postma (NED), © Sander van der Borch.

The Delta Lloyd Regatta continues to Sunday 30th May when the medal races will be held.

Results after two races
1 ESP100 Rafael Trujillo 1 2 3
2 USA4 Zach Railey 5 1 6
3 GBR0 Edward Wright 4 3 7
4 CRO524 Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic 3 6 9
5 GBR41 Giles Scott 6 7 13
6 CRO25 Marin Misura 11 5 16
7 GBR66 Mark Andrews 10 8 18
8 SLO5 Gasper Vincec 2 17 19
9 AUS1 Brendan Casey 15 4 19
10 NED842 Pieter-Jan Postma 12 10 22

Finn Class
Delta Lloyd Regatta