Sunday, 6 March 2011

Audi MedCup: Quantum Racing Announces Crew Roster for 2011 Racing Season

by Libby Tomlinson

Five, top-level sailors have been added to Quantum Racing’s 2011 team roster,
with several crew members returning for another season. In addition to Ed Baird as Helmsman, Quantum Racing also welcomes Matt Cassidy to Mid-bow, Ben Durham as Runner, Grant (Louie) Loretz as Trimmer, and Joe Spooner as Grinder.

Ed Baird has racing experience in nearly every type of boat including the TP52. Baird was the winning helmsman of America’s Cup 32 aboard Alinghi, the 2007 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year, and part of the 1995 America’s Cup winning team, Team New Zealand. Baird has raced in the Whitbread RoundtheWorld Race, won the Rolex Yachtsman of the Year award, is a three-time Match Racing World Champion and the only American ever to reach #1 on the ISAF World Match Racing Rankings. He also has extensive Grand Prix and Olympic racing experience and numerous World, International, and North American one-design championships to his credit.

Matt Cassidy comes from a very successful campaign in the RC44 class with Team Aqua. Matt’s background also includes achievements in the Farr40 and Farr30 classes and the Areva/K-Challenge America’s Cup team.

Ben Durham has been part of the America’s Cup since 2000, sailing with the Young Australia Challenge, Oneworld Challenge, and Luna Rossa Challenge. He continued sailing with Luna Rossa on the STP 65, the Louis Vuitton Trophy, and in the 2010 MedCup.

Grant (Louie) Loretz has been a key member of Emirates Team New Zealand since 1987 in both the MedCup and America’s Cup. He also holds five world championships and many top finishes in multiple fleets including Farr 40, Melges 32, 1D48, Maxi worlds and IMS regattas.

Joe Spooner began his career in the Finn, competing in the 1996 games for New Zealand. He has a history of winning, from the 2010 America’s Cup with Oracle Racing to numerous events onboard the Maxi Yacht, Alfa Romeo. Joe also has MedCup experience with Artemis in 2007 and 2008.

Returning crew members include:

Greg Gendell, Bow - Greg has been with Quantum Racing since the start in 2008. He has four additional World Championships to his credit, as well as two America’s Cup campaigns with Stars & Strips and Abracadabra, and the Whitbred Round The World Race on Chessie Racing.

Tom Burnham, Pit - Tom raced in the last three America’s Cups, with Young America, Prada, and Luna Rossa. Tom joined Quantum Racing in 2008 and won the Louis Vuitton Trophy in Nice with Team Azzura.

Brett Jones, Trim – Brett is a top sail designer with Quantum Sails, and has been part of Quantum Racing since the start. Brett’s previous involvement with the America’s Cup goes back to 1995 and four campaigns with Australian Challenge, Abracadabra, BMW Oracle Racing, and Shosholoza.

Andrew Scott, Grinder - Andrew joined Quantum Racing in 2008, and has since also joined Quantum Sails as the Vice President of Operations and Quality Control. Andrew previously competed in the America’s Cup with Stars & Strips, and in an Olympic campaign in the Star class.

Adrian Stead, Tactician - Adrian began his successful career in the Olympics in the Flying Dutchman in 1992 and the Soling in 1996. From there, he participated in the Whitbred Round the World Race, the America’s Cup with GBR Challenge, and won the Tour de France a la Voile. Adrian joined Quantum Racing in 2010, coming from a successful run of three back-to-back Farr40 World Championships and two European Farr40 Championships on Mascalzone Latino.

Kevin Hall, Navigator - Kevin joined Quantum Racing in 2010, coming from two America’s Cups and one MedCup with Emirates Team New Zealand. Kevin has also enjoyed success in the Moth and 49er skiff fleets and competed in the 2004 Olympics in the Finn class.

Skip Baxter, Main Trim - Skip came to Quantum Racing in 2008, bringing his TP52 experience from 2007 MedCup and World Championship team, Artemis. Skip is a Farr40 World Champion as well, aboard Barking Mad, and has two America’s Cup campaigns to his credit, with America One and Prada.

Quantum Racing also welcomes Anthony Murray, Paul Gudgeon and Dylan Clarke to the shore crew.

Quantum Racing serves as a test platform to evaluate and validate Quantum’s iQ® Technology process for sail development and the company’s Fusion M® sails. Always on the podium since the inception of the Audi MedCup, Quantum Racing was winner of the 2008 Audi MedCup Circuit and runner-up in 2009 and 2010. Quantum Racing was the also the 2008 and 2010 TP52 World Champion.

2011 Quantum Racing Team Roster

Ed Baird - Helmsman
Adrian Stead - Tactician
Kevin Hall - Navigator
Skip Baxter - Main Trim
Matt Cassidy - Mid-bow
Andrew Scott - Grinder
Joe Spooner - Grinder
Brett Jones - Trim
Grant (Louie) Loretz - Trim
Ben Durham - Runner
Greg Gendell - Bow
Tom Burnham- Pit
Jeremy Smith - Boat Captain
Anthony Murray - Shore Crew
Paul Gudgeon - Shore Crew
Dylan Clarke - Shore Crew
Martin Winter - Sailmaker
Barbara Thoney - Logistics/Travel
Libby Tomlinson - PR/Media
Keith Brash - Media Production
Ed Reynolds - Managing Director
Mark Koetje - Owner Representative

Team member bios are available at:
Quantum Racing