Saturday, 22 May 2010

Finn Europeans: Prizegiving and Image Gallery

Prizewinners on the podium at the Finn Europeans: L-r Daniel Birgmark (SWE, 3rd overall), Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic (CRO, 1st overall) and Ed Wright (GBR, 2nd overall). Supplied image.

Close racing at the windward mark during the Finn Europeans 2010. Supplied image.

by Robert Deaves

Last Sunday night outside YC Labud in Split, Croatia, local hero Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic received the Finn European Championship trophy for the second year running. After third placed Daniel Birgmark (SWE) and runner-up Edward Wright (GBR) had ascended the podium, Gaspic arrived in a RIB, commando style, from the depths of the marina amid a fanfare of loud music, flares and applause, and flamboyantly launched himself from the RIB onto the podium as the music thumped away. It was a spectacular entry to the medal ceremony and a fitting end to a successful championship, despite the wind and weather problems.

Gaspic arrives commando-style at the awards ceremony. Supplied image.

Just before this, the awards were presented to the three top Juniors, Ioannis Mitakis (GRE), Luke Lawrence (USA) and Caleb Paine (USA).

The three top Juniors: l-r: Caleb Paine (USA), Ioannis Mitakis (GRE) and Luke Lawrence (USA). Supplied image.

After the speeches and presentations and finished, the Deputy Mayor of Split, Ms Andelka Viskovic, closed the 2010 Finn Open Junior and Senior European Championships.

Dan Slater (NZL) finished 11th at the Finn Europeans 2010, just missing out on the medal race. Supplied image.

Next year the Finn European Championship is being held in Helsinki, Finland.

Ideal Finn sailing weather. Supplied image.

Finns Sail at Sunset

Racing continued into the sunset. Supplied image.

Davourlis Panagioris (GRE). Supplied image.

Racing into the sunset. Supplied image.

The fleet at sunset. Supplied image.

Competitors at the Finn Europeans 2010

Wright chases Gaspic in the medal race. Supplied image.

Ed Wright in the medal race. Supplied image.

Race start. Supplied image.

Ivan Kljakovik Gaspic (CRO). Supplied image.

Daniel Birgmark (SWE). Supplied image.

Concentration downwind. Supplied image.

Tapio Nirkko and Giles Scott. Supplied image.

Piotr Kula (POL). Supplied image.

Ed Wright (GBR). Supplied image.

Deniss Karpak. Supplied image.

Ioannis Mutakis. Supplied image.

Finn Europeans