Thursday, 4 February 2010

Aussie 18 Foot Skiffs: Giltinan Championship 2010

by Frank Quealey

18ft Skiff Racing’s greatest challenge begins on Sydney Harbour on 12th February when 31 of the world’s best crews line up to contest the 61st J.J. Giltinan Trophy Championship.

With six past champions and a host of world and international championship-winning challengers all vying for the title in similar boats, the racing on Sydney Harbour will be a “WAR ON WATER” during the seven-race regatta.

Previous champions are:

Michael Coxon Australia 2006, 2007
Rob Greenhalgh UK 2004
Howie Hamlin USA 2002, 2003
John Harris Australia 2001
Seve Jarvin Australia 2008
John Winning Australia 2000

The recently crowned NSW and former Giltinan champion Michael Coxon is the early favourite to win back the crown he previously held in 2006 and 2007.

Coxon is joined by last year’s winning Giltinan champion crewmen Aaron Links and Trent Barnabas in the Thurlow Fisher Lawyers-sponsored skiff he campaigned in 2008.

Aside from the past Giltinan champions, there are eight skippers in the regatta who have won world championships in other sailing classes.

These include:

Rob Greenhalgh ….. International 14 Class
Howie Hamlin ….. 5o5
John Harris ….. International Moths
Mark Kennedy ….. 29ers
Archie Massey ….. International 14 Class
Evan Walker ….. Open Multihull / Youth
Jason Waterhouse ….. Hobie 16 / Youth
John Winning Jr. ….. 29ers

There are six previous (and current) Interdominion 12ft Skiff champions:
Phil Airey, Andrew Cuddihy, Nick Press (current), Chris Skinner, Alex Vallings, John Winning

Adding to the extremely high level of talent in the fleet is Sweden’s Anders Lewander, skipper of ‘Ericsson 3’ in the Volvo Round-the-World race, who is returning to the 18s after previous campaigns in the 1990s.

Giltinan Championship Race Dates are:

Friday 12 February Invitation Race
Saturday 13 February Race 1
Sunday 14 February Race 2
Tuesday 16 February Race 3
Wednesday 17 February Race 4
Thursday 18 February Race 5
Saturday 20 February Race 6
Sunday 21 February Race 7

All races will start at 3:00pm (with the exception of Races 1 and 6, which will start at 4:00pm).

Spectator ferries follow all races, leaving Double Bay Public Wharf (alongside the Australian 18 Footers League clubhouse) 30 minutes before each race.

Adults A$15
Children under 16 (accompanied by an adult) are FREE

Follow the championship on the Australian 18 Footers League websites: and

For further information, contact:

Frank Quealey
Australian 18 Footers League

Phone: (02) 9363 2995
Mobile: 0417 421 952

Aussie 18 Footers League

No comments: