Thursday, 4 February 2010

Champions crowned in ANZ Private Bank 2010 Zephyr Nationals

Racing at the Zephyr Nationals 2010. Image copyright Murray de Lues.

by Murray de Lues

Tim Sneddon of the RNZYS easily won his first Zephyr Nationals, also claiming the 50-59 age group title. In the overall championship Team New Zealand weather guru Grant Beck was runner up and Craig Moss 3rd.

Winner of the 60 plus age group was 6 times champion Murray Sargisson having won his first overall title 38 years ago, second was Colin Maddren followed by local sailor Bill Faulkner.

In the 50-59 age group, top keelboat skipper, Tim Sneddon won, with Olympic coach, Grant Beck second closely followed by Steve Pyatt.

In the 40-49 age group Craig Moss was first with Peter Dawson, father of P Class Tanner Cup winner Erica, in seocnd place with Paul Humphries third.

Ladies Champion is Laura Hemingway who added this title to the World Splash Class title she won a few weeks ago, followed by a gutsy performance by Cathryn Bridges from Christchurch. Cathryn's boat suffered serious damage on Day 2 when another competitor holed her boat causing the port side to fill up. Thanks to her dad she was sailing the next day.

Handicap winner was local Peter Stacey, another local Geoff Collins was second with Cathryn Bridges third.

2010 Zephyr Nationals images

No comments: