Sunday, 28 February 2010

OK Junior World Champion Wins CentrePort Wellington International Youth Match Racing

CentrePort International Youth Match Racing Regatta Champions Matt Steven, Hana Maguire, Anita Trudgen & Heather Trudgen (RPNYC). Image copyright Chris Coad/

by Matt Chan

Wellington turned on a cracker for the finals of the CentrePort International Youth Match Racing Regatta 2010 resulting in a fantastic day for the Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club. All three RPNYC teams were successful in their respective sail offs. It was a short day on the water, only the minimum number of races was required for both the Final and Petit Finals.

RPNYC skipper Matt Steven who was recently crowned as Junior OK World Dinghy Champion now has another title to add to the list. Steven won the trans – Tasman clash against Cruising Yacht Club of Australia skipper Will Mackenzie in 3 straight races. In the first match Stevens won the start and built a 40 second win in 10 knot warm breeze. In the second Steven beat Mackenzie by 9 seconds after a furious gybing due. Steven covered perfectly to take what was to be an unassailable two-nil lead in series. In the final match a big shift to the left exaggeraed the final result with a 3 minute 17 seconds win, giving Steven the series.

In the sail off for third and fourth, RPNYC skipper Tim Coltman took third place with two consecutive wins beating Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron skipper Jordan Reece.

Josh Porebski prevailed in the fifth and sixth sail off against the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club team skippered by Jason Waterhouse.

It was an intra-club clash as Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron skippers Dan Pooley and Jamie Dawson faced off in the sail-off for seventh and eighth with Pooley taking seventh place over his clubmate.

Thanks to all for a great regatta, see you next year!


Steven 3 - Mackenzie 0

3rd/4th sail-off
Coltman 2 - Reece 1

5th/6th sail-off
Porebski 2 - Waterhouse 0

7th/8th sail-off
Pooley 2 - Dawson 0

Overall Results

1st Steven RPNYC
2nd Mackenzie CYCA
3rd Coltman RPNYC
4th Reece RSYS
5th Porebski RPNYC
6th Waterhouse RPAYC
7th Pooley RNZYS
8th Dawson RNZYS

Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club

No comments: