Friday, 5 March 2010

LVT: TeamOrigin Preview to Louis Vuitton Trophy Auckland

* Sailing team line-up announced
* Match Racing team head up leaderboard after Day Two of the Omega Auckland Match Racing

TeamOrigin at the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series in Auckland. Image copyright Chris Cameron/ETNZ.

by Leslie Greenhalgh

TEAMORIGIN have now been down in Auckland since 22nd February and are in the final throes of preparation for the Louis Vuitton Trophy Auckland Regatta. Training days take place on Sunday 7th and Monday 8th March and racing starts on Tuesday 9th March. The initial round robin happens between Tuesday 9th March until Monday 15th March, followed by 2-3 days elimination rounds, semis and then the Louis Vuitton Finals on Sunday 21st March.

TEAMORIGIN released today their sailing team line-up for the event as follows:

#1 Bow Matt Mitchell, NZL
#2 Mid-Bow Matt Cornwell, GBR
#3 Mast Julien Cressant, FRA
#4 Pit Craig Satterthwaite, NZL
#5 Grind 1 Mark McTeague, AUS
#6 Grind 2 Pawel Bielecki, POL
#7 Mid Grind Chris Brittle, GBR
#8 Trim Up Mike Mottl, AUS
#9 Trim Down Andy Hemmings, GBR
#10 Main Chris Salthouse, NZL
#11 trav/strategist Santiago Lange, ARG
#12 Helm Ben Ainslie, GBR
#13 Tactiction Iain Percy, GBR
#14 Navigator Ian Moore, GBR
#15 Strategist Andrew Simpson, GBR
#16 Runner Mike Sanderson, NZL
#17 Runner/pit assist Anthony Nossiter, AUS

Spare/rotation Name
#18 Grinder David Carr, GBR
#19 Trimmer Christian Kamp, DEN

The Match racing team of Ben Ainslie, Iain Percy, Mike Mottl, Zac Hurst, Julien Cressant and Matt Cornwall are this week competing in the Omega Match racing event and headed up the leaderboard after day one with 6 wins and 2 losses. They completed a further 2 races today before racing was abandoned due to strong winds, taking wins from Col and Dickson, so head up the scoreboard with 8 wins.

Points Table (after RR1 & Flight 1 of RR2)
Ben Ainslie 8 wins
Dean Barker 6
Adam Minoprio 6
Karol Jablonski 6
Bertrand Pace 5
Torvar Mirsky 5
Francesco Bruni 4
Sebastien Col 4
Chris Dickson 3
Magnus Holmberg 3

The eight teams lining up for the LV Trophy event are:
Aleph, FRA
All4One, FRA/GER
Artemis, SWE
Azzurra, ITA
Emirates Team New Zealand, NZL
Mascalzone Latino, ITA
Synergy, RUS

Follow Racing:
Racing can be followed on (we will post a live blog during racing, a link to enable you to watch racing online).


No comments: