Thursday, 17 February 2011

CentrePort International Youth Match Racing Championships, Wellington: Coltman & Galati Lead

by Matt Steven

The 2011 Centreport International Youth Match Racing Championships are underway. With three teams entered from Australia, one from Italy, one from Auckland and three more from Wellington it looks like the racing will be fast and furious.

Jay Griffen and his team from the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia must enter as hot favourites having just won the Harken Cup in Auckland. His rival from acorss the harbour Jordan Reece, representing Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, will also be hard to beat entering this regatta on the back of four events in Australia and New Zealand. Rounding out the Australian trio is Stephanie Doyle and her team from Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club making her frst appearance as skipper on Wellington Harbour.

Codie Banks from the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron and Valerio Galati from Lega Navale Italiana Trani both come to this regatta having competed in last week's Harken cup and should be on good form for the event.

The local derby is going to be interesting with Josh Porebski's team coming up against Tim Coltman and his team both representing the Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club. Clubmate Anita Trudgen has entered a girls team to get some practice before next week's selection event for the Yachting New Zealand women's Olympic squad, but you can bet she will also be hard to beat in this event.

Racing has concluded for the day with 10 flights completed in perfect conditions. Up to date results are below. Check the Twitter feed @WgtnSpirit for live updates.

Note from SailRaceWin: After initial postponements due to light winds, racing got under way in 10-14 knots of breeze at the entrance to Evans Bay, Wellington, on day one.

Results after day one
Skipper (club, country) wins-losses

Tim Coltman (RPNYC, New Zealand) 4-1
Valerio Galati (LNIT, Italy) 4-1
Codie Banks (RNZYS, New Zealand) 3-2
Jay Griffen (CYCA, Australia) 3-2
Jordan Reece (RSYS, Australia) 3-2
Josh Porebski (RPNYC, Wellington) 2-1
Anita Trudgen (RPNYC, Wellington) 1-6
Stephanie Doyle (RPAYC, Australia) 0-5