Thursday, 23 September 2010

New Zealand Youth Match Racing National Championship

by Matt Steven

The 2010 New Zealand Youth Match Racing Nationals are scheduled for September 25 to 28. With eight teams again invited to compete in this year’s event the field will be made up of New Zealand’s best young match racers.

The Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club have entered three strong teams to try and regain the Warren ‘Wolfie’ Williams Memorial trophy which was won by Peter Burling and his crew from Tauranga in 2009. Once again the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron has entered three quality teams with an up and coming women's team skippered by Danielle Bowater being one to keep an eye on.

Hot favourite for the title this year is Yacht Squadron graduate William Tiller who has established the "Full Metal Jacket" racing team and is achieving some outstanding results on the International Match Racing circuit. Tiller in his rooky year on the circuit has already reached a standard where he has qualified to compete in World Match Racing Tour events, the pinnacle of the ISAF match racing programme.

Back for their last year in the event are Josh Junior, Matthew Steven and Chris Jones sailing for the Wellington Spirit Yacht Racing Team. This combination dominated the Trans Tasman Youth match racing circuit last summer but have not sailed together for over six months. In between time Steven has won the World OK Dinghy Junior title while Junior has just returned to Wellington after placing 6th in the ultra competitive Olympic Laser Class World championships.

Rounding out the entries in 2010 are teams from Queen Charlotte Yacht Club and Naval Point Yacht Club who will be new to the event in 2010.

Visit the RPNYC events page at to see live updates during the event.